Author Bio


IMG_1416-0

I was born in Pusan, South Korea (Busan if you are Korean) and was left on a street when I was 3 years old. I was adopted and lived my early childhood in Jackson, Mississippi which was… interesting. I moved to Memphis, TN around the first grade I believe and although similar in some ways, Memphis was very different in others. My adopted parents are white, my mom is a writer and my father is a doctor, and I have an adopted sister (SK as well) and a white adopted brother. I am the middle child.

I grew up playing competitive soccer, golf, and gymnastics. I hate baseball, so I guess I will never be “American.” Something about small hard objects being thrown at my face does not appeal to me. I was never tall enough, when I was young, and did not get picked often to play basketball. They would say “we will takkkkkkeeee… Cindy!” “DAMMIT!” Growing up with all white friends and black school mates was a bummer because I was generally in the lower 25% in height and weight. A fact that was readily apparent in physical altercations, but I will say that I gave as good as I got. I grew up white, which really just is the simple truth. I didn’t even eat Asian food, and yes I say Asian here because I wasn’t Korean at the time.

I attended the University of Tennessee at Knoxville and quickly went from a good student to a below average student. Mainly because for some reason to do well in school you have to attend class, a concept that passed me by. I did not do well in college mostly because of anger at my birth mom, which I discovered in 2000. I still have not met her or talked to her and she has kept me from ever meeting my older sister, whom I didn’t know existed till 2000 as well. It took me 12 years to move past that. I still like soju though… so at least I have a comforting companion.

I enjoy writing, poetry, history, animal shows, ESPN, a few regular shows, and I also LOVE Anthony Bourdain. If I could meet him I would, he has inspired me in many ways. I would also love to meet Robert Jordan, W.E.B. Griffin, and Raymond E. Feist, my three favorite authors. Unfortunately I will have to wait a bit to meet Jordan, RIP we will always miss you Robert. Your light still shines.

Currently I work in information technology under the yoke of Corporate Rule… but maybe one day I will be able to be a real writer. Right now I do not consider myself a writer at all, in fact I would say I am an amateur pretending to be a writer. I will accept the title of blogger though, that I suppose I have earned. I enjoy scotch, 12 years or even older if I can afford it. Famous Grouse is my favorite brand because it is cheap, but if I could drink Macallen every day I would. Unfortunately my Crohn’s keeps me from drinking too much of that, probably a good thing.

What else, this is beginning to sound pretty frivolous, I like debate and I admire conviction and passion in anyone. I dislike people that throw facts around without basis, or that try to validate themselves by throwing up hypotheticals, that to me is the most annoying thing ever. I guess I am more human than I thought.

I currently live in Colorado with my wife and two daughters. It snows here. I hate snow. Anyways, that is pretty much me.

This blog was created January 3rd, 2013.

Jason Cushman

-Opinionated Man

aopinionatedman@gmail.com

 

 

1,813 responses

  1. Dude, I was like, absent from your blog a while and it became “Happy Bunny”ish?

    Like

    1. I actually liked the Happy Bunny one :(

      Like

  2. Hello Jason, yes I found your Bio very interesting in the detail. I’m nowhere near as sophisticated as you in the Blogosphere. I’m intrigued how you manage so many followers. I’ll check you out some more. For now though – pleased to meet you and I’m from South Africa where I guess Color of skin is not taken lightly :-) Chevvy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I make my rounds and I interact with people as they interact back! It is a constant cycle social media. Thanks for giving my bio a read! :)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. […] courage to speak up. The small amount of courage that I have mustered up, is completely thanks to Opinionated Man and his post on HarsH ReaLiTy called, That Baby Isn’t ONLY Yours. His post reminded me of how […]

    Like

  4. I can’t believe I never read your bio, although that shouldn’t surprise me because I often forget to do that. It is the hello – this is all about me page! When I take time to get on my Reader (not often enough), I always enjoy reading what you have to say. You are an excellent writer, so don’t give up on the dream :) I’m curious as to what type of book you would like to write?!

    Like

    1. I really don’t know. There are books I feel I should write and there are ones I “want” to write. Maybe one day right? Thanks for giving my bio a read! :)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sure that will resolved itself in time; or maybe the two can come together – your “should write” and your “want to write”. One day! I managed to get two poems accepted to be published in an anthology of local Northern Virginia poets. Very exciting. It’s not a big national book release, but I am thrilled just the same. First time I ever submitted anything. Don’t give up the dream :)

        Like

        1. Nothing small about being published! Congrats! That is very awesome! :)

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi, cool blog. Thanks for connecting. I’m looking forward to interacting with you. Regards, John :-)

    Like

  6. I love finding other bloggers from this beautiful state especially ones I can laugh with ( I hate the snow too) .
    Nice to meet you!
    Cheers from The MomHood

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is nice to meet you as well! I am glad we agree on snow! ;)

      Like

  7. […] courage to speak up. The small amount of courage that I have mustered up, is completely thanks to Opinionated Man and his post on HarsH ReaLiTy called, That Baby Isn’t ONLY Yours. His post reminded me of how […]

    Like

  8. Your work “Best waltz” was inspiring with the beauty you shared with the readers! Really enjoyed the poem. Keep writing!

    Like

    1. Well that was someone else’s poem that I shared actually. :)

      Like

  9. This is the most interesting and most enjoyable About Me page I have ever read so far. :D

    Like

    1. I am glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for giving it a read! :)

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Whether you see my comment or not..I would say I am an amateur pretending to be a writer – I feel that too..hahaha

    Like

    1. I feel that daily lol. ;)

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Jason,
    Stopping by to give you a very big THANK YOU for reposting one of my blogs! It is greatly appreciated! Hope all is well! :)

    Like

    1. No thanks necessary Terese! I hope you have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. […] phone becomes your own little personal assistant.  WordPress notification letting me know that A Opiniated Man/Harsh Reality replied to a message I get it instantly and can respond.  Why that’s the sound my phone makes […]

    Like

  13. enjoying catching up on your blog…found your bio fascinating as I was married to an orphan from South Korea who was adopted by white Irish-Catholic parents in New York. They also had another adopted son from SK as well as two daughters of their own. Ours was an interesting union and we have remained friends although not still married. Anyway, enjoy your writing and the platform that you give to other’s like myself trying to put passion to verse. Thank you!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Koreans are a stubborn people and hard to be married to. I get it. ;)

      Liked by 1 person

  14. I’ve nominated you for the real neat blog award! click the link for the details. https://marvelouslymismatched.wordpress.com/2015/07/24/the-nominees-are-2/

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Thank you Jason for sharing your Bio the way you did! I admire your humbleness…best wishes to you!

    Like

  16. Hello Opinionated Man! First thing – Love the logo! I absolutely love your style of writing. Its blunt, its real, its hard-hitting. I’m a fan! I’ve had some troubles too but it takes a lot of courage to talk and write about it.
    Love and Respect!
    https://sartorialsociety.wordpress.com/

    Like

    1. You are too kind! I appreciate you taking the time to stop by!

      Like

  17. Love the intro! Looking forward to reading your posts.

    Like

    1. I am glad you liked the bio! Thanks for the visit!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the mention!

      Like

  18. OM, thank you for the opportunity to post my bio blog. My bio blog is at http://Tienny.com

    Like

    1. Thanks for sharing your bio Tienny!

      Liked by 1 person

  19. I love the bio. I always love your honesty. Thank you for allowing me to talk about myself here unapologetically. I am a writer and advocate for children with chronic illnesses and their families. My blog: http://iamnotsickboy.com in honor of my son who lost his battle with chronic illnesses much too soon. With education and some important changes, we can make the necessary changes in our broken healthcare system!
    My second blog: http://strawberriesforever.com is where I put my personal writings, poems, and photos. Hope to see you soon.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Loved the intro! Looking forward to reading your posts.

      Liked by 2 people

    2. Thank you for sharing the blog links! :)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re Welcome, OM.

        Like

  20. Pleased to meet you Jason – I’m offended, but I’ll still follow you. Haha – take it easy and thanks for visiting and following my site

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I appreciate you stopping by as well! ;)

      Liked by 1 person

  21. LOL! I love this: “My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.”

    I know! Just as Barnabas Collins might say. Thanks!

    Like

    1. I am glad you found the blog amusing and I appreciate you dropping by! :)

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Hi Jason,
    Thanks for following my blog! I hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I have just enjoyed reading some of your posts :-) You definitely don’t write like an amateur! Your “we will takkkkkkeeee… Cindy!” “DAMMIT!” really made me chuckle, I’ve definitely been there! I look forward to reading many more of your posts.
    Kind regards,
    Debra

    Like

    1. Thanks Debra for taking the time to stop by and give some of my stuff a read! I appreciate it! :)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Please do! Shall I get the tea tray out, or would you prefer something stronger??! :D

        Like

        1. Is that really a question? I don’t do tea…

          [hides his tea]

          Liked by 1 person

        2. LOL! It’s a Punjabi household, Bacardi or Chivas??!

          Like

        3. Perfect… Tumbler and ice at the ready!

          Like

        4. Now you are speaking my language!

          Liked by 1 person

        5. Do you need nibbles? Indian bar snacks consist of Bombay mix, and peanuts.. Don’t forget the peanuts!!

          Like

        6. Oh my! Heaven! lol :)

          Liked by 1 person

        7. Perfect! See you soon! 😁

          Like

  23. G’morning Jason :)
    I’ve nominated you for an award, come take a look!
    https://keepaweathereye.wordpress.com/2015/05/07/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Like

    1. Thanks! I’ll stop by! :)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My pleasure, and thanks! :)

        Like

  24. I have nominated you for this award right here..
    Go check it out! :D

    https://erichmichaels.wordpress.com/2015/05/06/i-have-been-nominated/

    Like

    1. Thanks I’ll check it out!

      Liked by 1 person

  25. Hello, Opinionated Man! Thank you so much for following my blog!
    I truly hope you like my writing and my stories, since I am really enjoying your posts. Also, let me tell you I appreciate every single like I have gotten from you so far. It really means a lot.
    Have a wonderful day x

    Like

    1. I thank you for the kind words in return! :)

      Liked by 1 person

  26. Thank you for stopping by and following my blog. I am really looking forward to discovering your blog more. I am adopted as well and find it interesting what paths in life others are taking. It certainly is not an easy start to life. It seems to get easier as years go by. I wish you luck with your writing and aspirations.

    Like

    1. I thank you for the kind words and also for taking the time to drop by! All the best with your blogging as well this year! :)

      Liked by 1 person

  27. Hey Jason, I want to express my gratitude for you following my page. feel free to keep in contact. I like your style of writing. Also your spoken word. Maybe it would be cool if there were audiobooks books available “out there” that were spoken by you. Anyway, I would love constructive criticism of my work. feel free to help.

    Like

    1. I thank you for the visit back and I wish you the best with your blogging!

      Like

  28. HI (again)

    I just wanted to pop back and say thank you for the follow

    Like

    1. I appreciate the kind words and thanks for the visit as well!

      Like

  29. […] Saves me time. Thank you, Opinionated man! […]

    Like

  30. Hey there, dunno how you managed to find my blog and followed it, but thanks!
    Your Bio was an interesting read. Can’t say i relate much. Still, It’s interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No worries and I appreciate you stopping by! :)

      Like

  31. somebloggersblog | Reply

    Hi there :), Thank you for the follow, hope my blog will be an interesting read!

    Like

    1. Thank you as well for stopping by! I appreciate it!

      Like

  32. “And we’ll takkkkkeeeeee CINDY! damn it!” That killed me and i think we have all been in that situation at some point in our lives. It was great getting to know more about you! I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award! I hope you participate! :) https://youngsunshinescooking.wordpress.com/2015/04/28/739/

    Like

    1. I am glad you liked the bio and thanks for leaving the link! I’ll check it out!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Super! I look forward to seeing your answers!

        Like

  33. Hey, your blog is great. Especially, the posts about feminism – they’re hilarious and close to the truth at the same time. I have written a few posts about pseudo-feminism myself and I can relate to you. Keep going.
    -Leela

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad you like it and thanks for taking the time to let me know!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was my pleasure. I have written a few posts about feminism. Do check them out if you have time.

        Like

  34. “They would say “we will takkkkkkeeee… Cindy!” ” :-D

    Like

  35. I’m not sure if you participate or not in blog awards but I’ve nominated you for the real neat blog award. https://theuglyducklingslife.wordpress.com/2015/04/23/the-real-neat-blog-award/ You’re an amazing person. I’m just glad to found your blog on WordPress. <3 =)

    Like

  36. I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award!! It’s an amazing way to share the blogs you love. Check out my posting here for the rules: http://idbblog.com/2015/04/16/lets-connect-thanks-for-nominating-me/

    Like

    1. Thank you for the nomination! :)

      Liked by 1 person

  37. Good luck to you in your goals of offending everyone and becoming a writer!

    Liked by 1 person

  38. I love reading your blogs. I finally got around to reading the about the author section and am floored by how much we have in common (I promise that was not a pick up line). I just don’t know many other “abandoned” South Koreans who like food, who grew up White, and who write! :) Anyways, I just wanted to let you know that I love reading what you throw out there!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We are a rare breed aren’t we? ;) Thanks for giving this a read!

      Like

      1. You know, I really think we are! :)

        Like

  39. Jason,

    I truly enjoy reading your blog and have nominated it for The Creative Blogger Award. I sincerely feel your blog deserves this recognition. If you wish to participate, please follow the rules in the link below. Whether or not you choose to participate, I hope you will accept the recognition and my sincerest appreciation.

    Here is the link: https://mrflyingpig.wordpress.com/2015/04/06/the-creative-blogger-award/

    Liked by 1 person

  40. Jason, this is a most interesting blog. Must admit to reading an entire post without understand very much of it but then there are others that I have learnt from and things that I am now aware of from reading them. Thank you for sharing your story. Many of us who’s experienced similar life events are grateful for your openness.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I appreciate you taking the time to browse and for the kind words. :)

      Like

  41. What were you doing between January and May 2013? Why so much gap?

    Like

      1. yes

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I shift posts around a lot so that really isn’t a gauge. I post about 7 times a day normally. :)

          Liked by 1 person

        2. Of course, I should have noticed.

          Liked by 1 person

        3. ;) But I am posty lol. Thanks for stopping by and reading. Hope you find something amusing. ;)

          Like

        4. I have read a lot of your posts in such a short time! I have just started today!

          Liked by 1 person

        5. Well I do appreciate the time! :)

          Like

        6. Why haven’t you set your ‘OM’ pic as your gravatar?

          Like

        7. It is. They keep moderating it lol. WordPress hates me. :)

          Like

        8. Then let’s fuck WordPress and make our own. We shall name is BroPress.

          Liked by 1 person

      1. You are welcome!

        Like

  42. […] nomination, I want to challenge a giant, a juggernaut of the world of blogging, Opinionated Man @ HarsH ReaLiTy to take […]

    Like

  43. Hey, I came over to thank you for following my blog. I’m glad I came across yours this morning. Off to find some more of your popular posts now : -)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you find something amusing to browse and thanks for the visit! :)

      Liked by 1 person

  44. Interesting! To be honest, I hated your blog at first. The appearance, your posts and especially the frequency with which you posted. But now, for quite some time, I’m loving your posts and everything you write. I’m hilarious and is fun to read. I love your blog Jason :D Will it marry mine? Just kidding! Only, why don’t you allow kid guest post bloggers? I want to share one of my poem so bad with you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t share bloggers under the age of 18 due to internet protocol and safety measures. It is also very much a way of protecting myself from any type of “problems.” I’m married and not a rich man by any standard so I can’t afford to have anything happen that would jeopardize my family. Hope that makes sense and thank you for the kind words!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah okay! Well then, I’ll just have to wait for two more years :D

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Awww. Looks like I have to wait for 5 more years.

        Liked by 1 person

  45. Hey Opinionated Man. Beautiful family. I just wanted to drop in and apologize for being an ignorant ass the first time we talked. I’ve been watching your blog and you’re ready helping a lot of people. Giving them strength to keep blogging. Keep up the awesome work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No worries and I appreciate the kind words! :)

      Liked by 1 person

  46. You’re such a handsome and amazing person Jason. We need more people like you in the world who’s paying it forward with motivation rather than money. Stay true, thank YOU! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for that. I do what I can. :)

      Like

  47. I love the way you write so I nominated you for the creative blogger award. Cheers! http://www.baffledbaboon.com/my-very-first-blog-nomination/

    Like

  48. The Chosen One | Reply

    I saw your archive. What were you doing from June 2013 to Dec 2013. Planning to take over WordPress?

    Like

  49. Thanks for being one of my followers! I’ve nominated you for the Disney Song Tag to show my appreciation :) Have a look at my post here: https://victoriajaynesbooks.wordpress.com/2015/03/11/disney-song-tag/

    Like

    1. Interesting. Thanks! :)

      Liked by 1 person

  50. I really like your blog, and I nominated you for a Liebster award! http://grocerystoremadness.com/2015/03/10/hooray/

    Like

  51. Hi Jason. Good to meet you. Greetings from Africa ;-}

    Like

    1. Hello back and greetings from Colorado! :)

      Like

  52. I found you through Lucky Otter. Wondered what you were so opinionated about, so I clicked on your Author Bio to find out. Now I’m angry at your birth mother, too.

    Like

    1. Such is life such is life right? I appreciate you dropping by! :)

      Liked by 1 person

  53. Oh, hey! Thanks for following. Your goal for this blog is uhm… interesting. I lack the drive. When I insult anyone, it’s usually by accident. :P

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Those are the most fun times! LoL ;)

      Liked by 2 people

  54. Hi…
    Stumbled upon your blog through the interview on the Chouett blog!!

    You have a great blog!! Keep blogging!

    Like

    1. Very kind and I appreciate you taking the time to hop over and make a connection! :)

      Liked by 1 person

  55. Thanks for following! You have an interesting perspective on things… i look forward to reading your posts!

    Like

    1. Very kind of you and I appreciate you taking the time to drop by! :)

      Liked by 1 person

  56. Thanks for the follow, I look forward to reading more of your site,,, I’m new at this, it’s been a struggle trying to figure out the aesthetics of site building, to make it presentable,, plus WTF is a plugin!??😁😳 I thought it might be something naughty,,, lol,, anyhow,, watch and follow me, I plan on becoming the next Anthony Bourdain; female version,,, 😎

    Like

  57. Woooow thanks for the follow :) so quick !!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for connecting as well. :)

      Liked by 1 person

  58. Oh Gosh! Thank you for hitting “Follow” button to my blog Jason. :)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. No thanks necessary! I appreciate you connecting back and thanks for dropping me a line. :)

      Liked by 1 person

  59. Thanks for the follow. It only took you six hours – I’m impressed.
    And congratulations for being able to follow me. :D
    steals your scotch ;)

    Like

    1. Hands off the scotch!!! Guards!!!!!!

      Like

        1. What in hades is going on here! Ah!!!

          Like

        2. leaves dog soup to replace Fluffy and scotch
          Inu wa tabimasu ka?

          Like

        3. Of course. I love me some dog. Tabemasen!!!

          Like

  60. […] 2: Have Jason Cushman (aka, Opinionated Man) over at Harsh Reality, who has more than 53,000 followers, reblog your whiny […]

    Like

  61. I’m really liking your very real, blunt sounding writer’s voice. It must be disappointing for you to hear that!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Lmao! Well I appreciate the kindness. :)

      Like

  62. Thanks for sharing your story. It is amazing that you have moved past the anger at your birth mom. I think mastering forgiveness is one of the most difficult things on this planet. Congratulations for that achievement ( and also for your very successful blog, of course).

    Like

    1. Well I’m still pretty angry, but I do appreciate the kind comment and visit! ;)

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I was hesitating what to answer.But now that I read your post on your upbringing with faith, I’ll give it a try.
        I’m sorry to hear that you are sill angry.
        That stuff is really hard to forgive.
        I want to share what has helped me recently. I have read two books by Robert Schwartz about pre-incarnation planning, Your Soul’s Plan and Your Soul’s Gift. They contain heart-wrenching real life accounts of people who had to go through major challenges in life. And they contain interviews with psychic mediums who have access to the dialogues of the pre-birth planning sessions.
        It turned out that most of our suffering here was planned before. That blew my mind. There was some higher good for all the challenges. Mainly to make us turn inside and find out about our true eternal nature as love.
        If you are open to this kind of stuff, maybe you find comfort in these books as well. (The second book even contains Jesus channelings by Pam Kribbe).

        Like

  63. Hi, Opinionated Man, you’ve subscribed to my website 8 months ago. I am currently moving my subscribers to a new Newsletter that will be a 100% better than before, 1st you’ll receive less e-mails (About 1 a week). 2nd: all the information of the week will be in that same e-mail, so no e-mail each time I post a new article… And finally I’m sure you’re going to love it because it will feature a beautiful design you’ll love, with pictures, text, hyperlinks and more, all of that in one e-mail. So please, if you want to change the method you receive your e-mail, click on the link below and subscribe ! Once you will be subscribed, it shouldn’t take more than 48 hours for your account to be removed from the older method. (I am commenting on your website because there is no other way to contact you 😉)

    Thanks for your time and keep Simming !

    Subcribe: http://eepurl.com/beiOhX

    Like

    1. Thanks for letting me know about your newsletter. :)

      Liked by 1 person

  64. Sir Jason, I nominate you Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Please accept it at https://tienny.wordpress.com/2015/02/11/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    Like

  65. […] Opinionated Man blogged the question of what is the hardest part about blogging. […]

    Like

  66. You’re pretty pathetic.

    Like

    1. Not as pathetic as someone that hides their name.

      Liked by 2 people

  67. So glad you are back . I just read this about page. I can’t believe they would suspend you for FOLLOWING someone. I follow a lot of people. I don’t always respond to them, or like them, but I do read as much as I can. And what I want to read. Guess I better not follow too many. I am so slow in figuring out things about anything. I am still trying to figure out how to use some of the widgets. I don’t want to have to worry about following people I like and want to follow.

    Like

    1. Thanks for giving my about a read! :)

      Liked by 1 person

  68. Hello OM, thanks for stopping by and following my blog, I appreciate it. I browsed through your blog and enjoyed reading some of your hilarious/sarcastic posts. Looking forward to read more from you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for dropping by as well and for taking the time to shoot me a line! :)

      Liked by 2 people

  69. Hello OM, I’ve just nominated you for a Liebster Award. I don’t know that you care about this at this point, but to me it was another small way to let you know that you and your blog are loved and respected. Don’t flame me :-P . Cheers ;-)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I appreciate the kind mention!

      Liked by 1 person

  70. […] As for me, my plans are set and I just might drown myself in some good quality ‘HarsH ReaLiTy‘ reading afterwards. My writing idol ladies and gentlemen, OM! […]

    Like

  71. The Writer’s Monthly Review Print Edition online one week – see it here – http://writersmonthlyreview.com/2015/02/03/print-edition-version-up-for-one-week/

    Like

    1. Thanks for sharing the link!

      Like

  72. Not sure how to email you. I was wondering if you would be interested in guest posting my latest bit. It’s a bit cynical so naturally I thought you’d enjoy it ;) email me at hetzel.chel@alumni.uwlax.edu. Hope you see this!!!! Love your work.
    -Inspiration Indulgence
    http://inspirationindulgence.com

    Like

  73. Following a blog simply means that you will receive posts after they are published.

    Like

  74. I don’t know what it means to follow your blog if you end up leaving WP, but I’ll give it a try and see what happens.

    Like

    1. I’ll still be around. :)

      Liked by 1 person

  75. Hey I noticed you have a picture slideshow widget! What’s the shortcode for that? Or is it one of the widgets WordPress offers? Me want!

    Like

    1. It is a widget available on WP. :)

      Liked by 1 person

  76. I just noticed you changed your theme back! Yippee! The OM I know and love has returned! (Oops didn’t mean to say the L word, your bio said not to ;) )

    Like

    1. Yea that old theme was bad.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well if I’d been visiting your blog for the first time, I would have liked it. It’s not so congested. But you have a brand going with your congested look, and I had a feeling I knew what your theme change really hinted at. It was sad to see the revolutionary opinionated man defeated at last…so I missed the congested theme, the one you have now. Call me crazy, but it’s the truth.

        Like

  77. So, I read a couple different blog posts, all referencing your suspension but none of them explain why. Is there a blog that says what happened? I’m genuinely interested, because you were one of the first bloggers to reach out to me. And, as an adoptive mom, I have a vested interest in continuing to be friends with you. I have to find out how you turned out SO RIGHT. :) I don’t really know why they tried to take you out, but I’m glad you’re still here!

    Like

    1. Basically I was suspended for being a “mass follower.” The issue is that WordPress wants to stop this practice, but technically they cannot punish us for using the tools they provide and also when sooooo many other blogs have used this same practice. That is why they tried to disable my abilities. I do not mass like or even “like” often, but I do follow a lot of blogs daily. -OM

      Like

      1. So…there’s a limit to how many blogs we can read and follow in a day? Weirrrrrrrrrrrrd. Well, I’m glad you’re up and running. :)

        Like

        1. Apparently they are trying to make that a fact. :)

          Liked by 1 person

        2. Also, if you ever have time…seriously, I’d love to hear about the things your mom and dad did right. We have two adopted bio siblings, and although I know there’s no way to be a perfect parent and every kid is different, I also believe in research. :) Here’s a day I feel like things went well (but they don’t always…today being a not-so-great day). https://caseyalexanderblog.wordpress.com/2015/01/11/adoption-cookbooks-candy/

          Liked by 1 person

      1. So glad Ritu nominated you! I kinda chickened out…

        Like

  78. Glad all the bother got sorted for you. When i hear about things like this, i see Mel Gibson in a kilt yelling ‘FREEDOM’!! It’s never a pretty sight.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Now that is a funny image if you replace that with a short Korean in a kilt. ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. my imagination shall be amused for hours.

        Like

  79. Oh, OM. I’ve never liked your page, so I never read it. That is my choice as a reader, obviously. I was, however, ready to organize a virtual march on WordPress in order to save your blog. Although I don’t like your words, I’d fight to the death for your right to say them.
    Corny but true.
    If your page was shut down, (for being spammy? For real?) then what? It’s a slippery slope and I’m glad to see you back.
    You know, in an existential kind of way.

    Like

    1. I appreciate your support of freedom of speech! That means a lot considering you don’t really like my website. :)

      Like

  80. I read on a fellow bloggers site a reblogged post regarding the “take down” of your blog and now of it’s subsequent up and running status. Curious as to why the uproar, I wanted to come visit. Like you, I am adopted, I too have had to come to terms with a birthmother’s choice and move forward.
    I appreciate your honesty and look forward to reading more—
    Sending warmer days to Colorado from Georgia—
    Julie

    Like

    1. I appreciate you stopping by! I am happy my suspension was lifted. I grew up in TN and went to Georgia a lot! Great state!

      Like

  81. Hi, everyone. I am so excited that the suspension has been lifted off HARSH REALITY. Word Press had no clue who they were messing with. Glad to have you back OM. We, and I hope I am speaking for every blogger here, are happy to see the suspension lifted because – yes, we need you. Now, there I have said it. Most of us newbies who have tuned into to Harsh Reality are still here because not only did you inspire and motivate us but you helped us by opening your blog up to us. My own sites have benefited greatly as a result and for that I am thankful. Having said that, I want to tell everyone about two new sites I have been working on. One is for children called Soap Stone Creek Literary Journal for kids of all ages http://soapstonecreekjournal.com/. This site represents our print magazine debuting in May 2015 and yes, we are sending out a call for submissions from children writers around the world. We also accept stories and artwork from children of all ages. Email me and I will gladly send you information about our new blogsite and print kids journal. soapstonecreekjournal@gmail.com.
    I am also working on a Christian site – visit the link to see what we’re up to. https://lighthouseonthehillliteraryjournal.wordpress.com/.
    Thanks OM for another opportunity to toot my horn – you’re the best and Word Press knows what’s best for them, they better leave you be!
    Hey, our families could have been neighbors! I was born in Alabama!
    Warmest Wishes
    Marcella

    Like

    1. Thanks for sharing. :)

      Like

  82. OM, a friend of mine asked the folks over at Blogging 101 The Commons to clarify what’s going on here with the following limitations and such. She was told that the ability to follow and like has been restored to people like you and storytimewithjohn, who was also affected. Is that true? And are you gonna come back to us? I missed the old blog layout :)

    Like

    1. I do indeed have my powers back heh. I appreciate you looking into it for me!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t take the news very well at all. It was my pleasure, setting the facts straight. Hope you’re doing all right. I was going to nominate you for the Versatile Blogger Award, but I thought you might want your space. I was glad that Ritu nominated you, though. You really deserve it.

        Like

  83. […] am sharing this to show my support for http://aopinionatedman.com/harsh-reality/ because of his website and the sharing of other blogs I have been introduced to many platforms- […]

    Like

  84. That’s about as straight forward a bio I’ve ever read. I enjoy the honesty and emotion. It’s an excellent take of life. None of the flowery bs were all inundated with on a daily basis. Just the facts ma’am, just the facts. Wishing you well.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I appreciate that and thanks for giving my brief bio a read! Thanks also for taking the time to drop by!

      Liked by 1 person

Share your opinion

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55,608 other followers

%d bloggers like this: